When I first went gluten-free, I found it was a wonderful excuse to get out of eating pointless carbs. But then, I found myself missing crackers, and getting tired of basic rice crackers (even though San-J’s crackers are tasty.) A few basic criteria: they couldn’t be too unhealthy— not a ton of preservatives and sodium. Also, they had to work well with hummus. (Hummus is one of the best snack foods ever.)
Hands down, my favorites are Mary’s Gone Crackers. They have a distinctive nutty, earthy, crunchy flavor. Made with quinoa and flax, the ingredients list is short and not scary. They’re also surprisingly filling— very good to bring on road trips. I’ve tried the herb as well as the black pepper flavor, but the original is the Plus, they’re vegan.
Every time I’ve bought a box of Blue Diamond crackers, they wind up being devoured. Made with almonds, there’s a huge variety of flavors— some more healthy than others. Artisan Nut Thins Flax Seeds are on the healthier end; the cheddar cheese crackers, while delicious, are also full of weird ingredients and sodium.
Next is Mediterranean Snacks lentil crackers. Made with lentil flour and pea flour, they have a good, simple cracker flavor, which makes then perfect for pairing with hummus. (Note: these ones are not vegan, as they contain milk protein.)
If you’re looking for a simpler cracker, Goldbaum’s flatbread crisps are great (you can pick them up at Celiac’s Specialties.) A much stranger flatbread is Le Pain Des Fleurs— they have a bit flavorless, very crumbly, and a weird texture.
Oh, Glutino: why did you name yourselves after the ingredient you don’t have? I have mixed feelings about Glutino. While they have brought gluten-free products into a lot of stores, they are also a lot of empty calories— fluffy filler flours like white rice flour and potato starch. Their bagel chips had a good flavor, but a slightly dry aftertaste. However, they’re full of scary-sounding ingredients like glucono-delta-lactone and corn maltodextrin.
Their rosemary and sea salt crackers have a good herb-y flavor, but an overly cloying sweet aftertaste. Which is no wonder: the second ingredient in them in brown sugar. Second ingredient. (Why? They’d be so tasty otherwise!)
A last thought: someone should totally make a gluten-free Triscuit. And no, those “brown rice” Triscuits don’t count, as they’re still made with brown rice AND wheat.